A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events, and things in Minnesota history.
Photograph of Split Rock Light Station and a tram car, c.1916.
United States Light House Service uniform hat worn by Orren Young, the first head light keeper at Split Rock Light Station. Young wore the hat between 1910 and 1928.
Photograph of Split Rock Lighthouse being built c.1909.
Sectional diagram of the Split Rock tower. Created no earlier than 1907 and no later than 1969.
Split Rock Lighthouse Station. Photographed by Dennis Adams of the Federal Highway Administration c.2000.
Split Rock Lighthouse opened in the summer of 1910 to guide bulk ore ships sailing near Lake Superior's rocky coast. By 1940, its picturesque North Shore setting had made it one of the most visited lighthouses in the United States.
Foshay with his associate Henry H. Henley are photographed at Leavenworth Federal Penitentiary following their conviction on mail fraud, 1934.
Foshay (right) and Henry H. Henley face arraignment on charges of mail fraud, 1931. Photographed by the Minneapolis Star Journal.
Wilbur Foshay and wife Leota pose for a photograph.
Wilbur Burton Foshay, 1929.
Made possible by the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund through the vote of Minnesotans on November 4, 2008. Administered by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 (Map) • 651-259-3000 © .